Text + -

Friends of the Library

Friends of the Mission Viejo LibraryThe Friends of the Mission Viejo Library support the library through donations to purchase new materials, the operation of the Friends BookstoreAmazon book sales, special fundraising events, and the promotion of public awareness about the Library and its services.


As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the mission of the Friends is:

  •  to promote public awareness and encourage support of library facilities and programs;

  •  to solicit, receive, hold, and manage goods, services, and funds  donated for the furnishing, enhancement, and ongoing improvements of the library and to serve as the perpetual trustee of, and steward for, donations made to the library.

Donate to the Friends

Your tax-deductible donation to the Friends of the Mission Viejo Library supports the regular purchase of new materials for the Library. Visit our Donation page for more information and to make your gift to the Friends.

Joining the Friends

The Board of Directors of the Friends of the Mission Viejo Library normally meet the third Thursday of each month (except August) at 4:30 pm in the Saddleback Room at City Hall, located at 200 Civic Center, Mission Viejo. To learn more about the Friends of the Mission Viejo Library and how you can become involved in this volunteer organization, please call Sandy Brimer, Library & Cultural Services Supervisor, at 949-470-8488.

Board of Directors (FY 22-23)

Kathleen Cunningham, President
Pam Smith, Vice President
Mary Lee Nadon, Secretary
Nancy Livingston, Treasurer
Hugh Armstrong, Assistant Treasurer
Joanne Beal
Bob Breton
Elizabeth Busick
Liz Duran-Smetana
Jeri Griffin
Barbara Harris
Donna Haskill
JoAnn Hayden
Janet Palen
Randy Smith
Karen Welch
Genesis Hansen, Member Ex Officio
Dan Avery, Member Emeritus
Dr. Patricia Griggs, Member Emeritus
Mary Ellen Lewis, Member Emeritus
Tom O'Connor, Member Emeritus
Bari Russell, Member Emeritus
Bev Stonebarger, Member Emeritus